Connect with us

Latest News

IG of Police decorates ten newly promoted officers

Published on

IG of Police decorates ten newly promoted officers

IG of Police decorates ten newly promoted officers

IGP Mohammed Adamu, the Inspector General of Police, decorated 10 newly promoted senior police officers at the headquarters of the Force, Abuja, Monday.

The decoration ceremony follows on from the recent promotion of 6,601 Nigeria Police Force personnel including 1 DIG, 4 AIGs, 3 CPs, 3 DCPs, 8 CSPs, 607 SPs, 206 DSPs and 5,769 ASPs.

The Federation ‘s Secretary to Government, Boss Mustapha, attended the ceremony.

The SGF congratulated the newly promoted officers and ch urged them to see the promotion as an appeal to the nation for better services.

He assured the Inspector General of Police of the Federal Government of its commitment to the ongoing reforms of the Nigeria Police Force.

The IGP for its part noted that a total of forty-one thousand, eight hundred and sixty-three (41,863) Force officers and men across different ranks have been promoted to their next ranks since his assumption of office in January 2019.

He said the motivational exercises – a strategic management strategy aimed at empowering the workforce to tackle existing and emerging internal security threats – were driven by the values of seniority and competence, and represented training records and invaluable experience.

While congratulating the officers on their well-deserved elevation, Adamu charged them to deploy their intellect at all times and to demonstrate sound professional judgment in all their decisions.

The decorated officers include: DIG Adeleye Olusola Oyebade, who was a directing staff at the National Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPPS) until being promoted to the enviable rank of Deputy Inspector General of Police.

He was assigned as the DIG in charge of the Research and Planning department. He also doubles as the DIG in charge of the country’s South-West geopolitical region, a vacancy created by the recent retirement of DIG Peter Babatunde Ogunyanwo, in line with geo-political balancing considerations.

AIG Amba A.A Asuquo, AIG Nkereuwem A. Akpan, AIG Olafimihan Adeniran Adeoye, AIG Aishatu Abubakar, CP Jonathan Towuru, CP Sikiru Kayode Akande, DCP Johnson Oluwole Adenola and DCP Grema Jibir Isa are among others decorated.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.